First announcement

The 19​th Cambridge Workshop on Cool Stars, Stellar Systems, and the Sun

06 -10 June 2016

About Uppsala
Uppsala is the 4th largest city in Sweden, with about 200,000 inhabitants, located just North of Stockholm. The city strikes a balance between modern vibrancy and historic tranquility, playing host to numerous cafés, restaurants, and cultural events nestled among sites of historical significance and surrounded by idyllic forests and Swedish countryside. The university in Uppsala was founded in 1477—the oldest university in the Nordic region—and has been home to several notable figures in astronomy, such as Anders Ångström, Anders Celsius, Bertil Lindblad, Bengt Westerlund, and Gunnar Malmquist.

Important Dates ​(tentative)

16 Oct 2015

Splinter session proposal deadline

27 Nov 2015

Selection & announcement of splinter sessions

18 Jan 2016

Early registration & abstract submission opens

18 Mar 2016

Contributed talk abstract deadline + end early registration

22 Apr 2016

Selection & announcement of contributed talks

29 Apr 2016

Poster abstract deadline

06 May 2016

Cool Stars 20 proposal deadline

20 May 2016

Online registration closes

Optionally, you may ​ pre-register for the workshop online​. Note that this does not actually register you for the workshop. It only declares your intent to attend the workshop to give the organizers a better estimate of workshop attendance.

Splinter Session Proposals
Proposal submission to convene a splinter session at Cool Stars 19 is now open! The process is fully electronic and is handled through a web form. Information about what is required in a proposal can be found on the ​ Cool Stars 19 website​, along with a link to the ​ proposal submission form.​

Invited speakers
A list of invited speakers will be announced by early December.

Abstract Submission
A call for contributed abstract submission will open in January 2016. Please stay tuned.

For logistics concerning getting to Uppsala and booking a hotel, please visit the Cool Stars 19 website.

Student Funding
We anticipate funding to provide support for students to travel to Cool Stars 19. Stay tuned for further details.

LOC Contact
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the local organizing committee by email at ​​

Science Organizing Committee
Gibor Basri​ (University of California Berkeley)
Sarbani Basu (Yale University)
Axel Brandenburg (Nordic Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics)
Adam Burgasser (University of California San Diego)
Dainis Dravins (Lund Universitet)
Andrea Dupree (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics)
Gregory Feiden (​Co-chair​; Uppsala Universitet)
Debra Fischer (Yale University)
Suzanne Hawley (University of Washington)
Leslie Hebb (Hobart & William Smith Colleges)
Daniel Huber (University of Sydney)
Moira Jardine (University of St. Andrews)
Christopher Johns-Krull (Rice University)
Mercedes López-Morales (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics)
Nikolai Piskunov (​Co-chair​; Uppsala Universitet)
Ansgar Reiners (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen)
Bárbara Rojas-Ayala (Centro de Astrofísica da Universidade do Porto)
Jürgen Schmitt (Universität Hamburg)
Klaus-Peter Schröder (Universidad de Guanajuato)
Sami Solanki (Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung, Götteingen)
John Stauffer (Infrared Processing and Analysis Center, Caltech)
Jeff Valenti (Space Telescope Science Institute)
Gerard van Belle (Lowell Observatory)
Patricia Whitelock (South African Astronomical Observatory)